Never think you can’t be ‘that woman’

By curator, Lindsey Kukunda. Originally published on monpimon.wordpress.com

I was on my way home from a night out with friends. It was around 10.00 pm.

As I walked uphill, two men were walking down towards me. Suddenly, they stopped me and grabbed each of my arms. I had gone from being a free woman to being their prisoner in less than a second.

I begged them to let me go, and they leered and laughed at me. I yelled at a teenager passing by.

“Help me!”, I cried. “I don’t know these men. Please help me!”

The men told him to ‘mind his own business  or face fire’. The teenager run away. The men begun tugging me in a direction I was unaware of as I struggled to free myself.  A boda boda man passing by stopped and rode in our direction. They let me go and I run.

One of them chased after me. I turned around and saw him gaining on me. I run faster but could not out run him. I turned around again, gasping, to see my progress. I saw him lift his foot and kick me hard in my lower back. I flew like a stone, landing hard on the ground, cutting myself on stone.

The boda-boda man stopped chasing the other man and came for the one who was now hovering over me. He run away. I did not stop to thank the man. I got up and did not stop running until I had reached my house where I cried myself to sleep. I did not leave my home for two days.

At the time, I knew I’d brought this on myself because it was late and I was out alone.

Lake view sunrise.jpg

I don’t think like this anymore. I now know there are predators who will find their prey anyway they can and any woman become their victim, in any place, at any time and on any day.

 

One thought on “Never think you can’t be ‘that woman’

Leave a Reply

