Remember. You were once that schoolgirl.

I was in the taxi park, and a young school girl in uniform was in front of me. Suddenly one of the taxi touts grabbed her by the wrist and pulled her towards him. She tried to tug away but he was too strong and by the look on his face, he was enjoying it.

His face showed open lust for an under-age girl in a public place and everyone just kept on walking because I have observed time and time again that the desire of an grown man to harass, sleep or ruin the life of a young girl is not considered a death penalty offence (May I never become a Minister).

Back to the story.

“Leave me alone!”, the girl cried. The man refused to let her go and was enjoying her attempts to break free.

Naawe, let me just talk to you”, and the tone of his ‘seductive’ voice sent fury and disgust through my veins. I walked over and stood in front of him and the girl.

“If you don’t let go of this girl this instant”, I said through clenched teeth. “I am going to kick you in your testicles and whatever happens to me after in the name of revenge from your friends, I shall make sure you at least need a hospital”.

And just like that. He let her go. The moral of the story is don’t be an onlooker. Do what you can to stop street harassment. Because when the sun sets and there are few witnesses, it’s no longer street harassment. It becomes something more serious for that school girl.

Schoolgirls.JPG

I’m sharing this story because as a young girl who first started using public transport on my own, or going to Owino and those public places where men have license to touch, I always, ALWAYS, hoped that one day an adult would stand up for me. It never happened. I learned to accept it as normal. Until, as you can see from this blog, I said Fuck It. This shouldn’t be normal anymore.

One thought on “Remember. You were once that schoolgirl.

Leave a Reply

